Fedora Core 9 on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9 – Part 2

by krisrowland

I now have FC9 on my Mini working with sound and flash 😀

Global sound

To get sound working, I followed JonRob’s advice (again) and added:

options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=dell

to /etc/modprobe.d/sound. The file probably won’t exist yet, so create it.

My sound didn’t seem to work straight away. I rebooted then played with the sound mixer (icon in the task bar on the top panel). After playing with the preferences and adjusting volumes, my sound popped into existence. Nice 🙂

Flash in Firefox

Next was getting Flash to work in Firefox. This was much easier than I anticipated. These instructions are pretty n00by, but they are easy:

  • Go to a site like youtube. Try to play a video. Follow the prompt that Firefox throws up in the top drop-down toolbat to install the appropriate software (Adobe Flash Player).
  • It will fail. Select manual install.
  • You’ll be taken to the Adobe site’s Flash download page. Select to download the YUM rpm install file (you could probably just use the .rpm, too, but I figured the YUM version couldn’t hurt).
  • Run the downloaded file. It’ll be grabbed by the Fedora package manager. Install it.
  • You also need to install the Firefox plugin. I found it in the yum manager (Add/Remove Programs under the Administration menu item in System on the top panel). Search for ‘flash’. The Firefox Flash plugin should be the first entry (if not just read the descriptions). Install it.
  • Now you can probably play flash videos but not hear their audio. To fix this, install libflashsupport. You could use the package manager again but you can just do it from the terminal via:

yum install libflashsupport

You should now have Flash with sound in Firefox.

New RAM and Intel wireless card

As an aside, I also installed 2GB of (AData – cheap) RAM and the Intel wireless card I ordered off eBay (Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Mini-PCI Express Adapter). They both worked straight away. My only gripe is that the wireless connection about my house drops out spontaneously sometimes (which doesn’t happen to any other wireless devices I use). A reboot of the Mini typically fixes it. I suspect it has something to do with resuming from suspend or hibernate. I’m eager to see how the wireless goes out in the real world. The issue could just be something with my home network.

Hope this helps!

