Fixed: Synaptic not showing (searching) all packages

by krisrowland

After creating another persistent Live CD usb installation of Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid, I noticed a strange quirk with Synaptic: it wouldn’t show all packages available from the repositories I’d specified. While I still have no idea what caused the problem, I’ve just found how to fix it (thanks to Don Wait on the Ubuntu forums). All I had to do was rebuild the “Xapian Index”… How awesome does that sound?

“You’ll have to excuse me from this meeting. I’ve just recieved an urgent message to rebuild the Xapian Index… AWAY!” *Thrusts fist into the air in a SuperMan pose*

To actually do this, close Synaptic then enter this into the terminal:

sudo update-apt-xapian-index

Restart Synaptic and all should be well.

AWAY!

Share this post with AddThis!

